Reflections on sunshine!

Its official....spring is really here now…forecast for the next 7 days is glorious sun..and of course, both yesterday and today we went for long walks in the countryside.

And remember I showed you my little orchid friend a few weeks ago? It has blossomed beautifully and is just magnificent!! Here it is in all its orchidness!!

Orchid in Full Bloom!

Orchid in Full Bloom!

Can`t stop thinking of strolls in the sunshine, ice-cream and picnics and getting a spring-tan!! Lovely afternoon really, accompanied by a large glass of rose`and hubby quietly reading besides me, completely unaware that I am blurting out to the world my deepest thoughts!! 🙂

These two adorable beings portrays some of the activity we witnessed… Aren`t they so perfectly cuddly and sweet!!!

Adorable Little Ponies!

Adorable Little Ponies!

Whilst on the subject of sunshine..I want to let you in a little secret..we don`t have a TV….now let me explain…we have a TV set and its a bit archaic really but it works and functions perfectly, so whats the point of binning it to get a new one when it works..anyways, we don`t watch TV on our TV set but if there is something on TV which we are dying to see, we can always do that on the internet.

We watch loads of dvds instead of TV films and shows…so we get all the latest movies by post (through a company to which we subscribe to)- we select the titles we like and get around 3 films per week..thats enough really..if you are wondering what we do in our evenings and free time..why of course, we read books (should use my kindle a bit more but I love the feel of handling a book, so thats difficult if you`re at home on your sofa but more of a traveling companion), play games and try to invest time in our hobbies or go outdoors.

At first it was kind of difficult since I`ve always been a TV nut really but then you kind of get used to it and let`s say it..we`re not going to pay a contract for satellite TV for 18months and then if we move we have to continue paying it even though we`ll probably live in another area or there are better options at the time….so thats it really!!

But this is not the subject I wanted to focus on..what I really want to say was last week we watched a dvd called Oranges and Sunshine..don`t know if anyone out there has heard about it? Its an A+++ film and a real-life story about kids deported from Britain because they came from low-class families, or had family problems or for whatever reason…..and a few years earlier everyone knew or had heard about the holocaust and how horrific this was..so I say, does this echo of a similar tale?…it is really scandalous that in recent times (this was happening until 1960s) this kind of activity was  really occurring…the heroine of the story is Margaret Humphreys, a British social worker who dedicated her life to help these lost ‘children’ become reunited with their families…I think she is a role model for modern women really, a modern saint who overcame incredible barriers which included death threats….very worth one seeing this….and since it was Women`s Day and is going to be Mother`s Day here in Britain soon, I thought I`d share this experience with you!!!

3 thoughts on “Reflections on sunshine!

  1. Hello.
    I am from Rauma in Finland. It is a very beautiful town and we have a lot of lakes here, so when it is warm I swim a lot. We also got married here one year ago and I love my ‘hubby’ (nice word, I didn’t know it) to bits! His name is Jari abd he loves TV. That’s why I write. He is only watching TV and I think it is much better to watch movies that you can receive by post. My idea! Now is is watching football, which annoys me a lot. Maybe I can surprise him with a romantic movie, so if you know one!!! Let me know.
    Continue your blog! Marja.

    • Hey Marja!
      Thanks for your comment! My hubby doesn`t like football..he likes swimming!
      I was in Helsinki a few years ago once but didn`t have time to explore your country better…it is on my to do list one day!!

      Re romantic films..are you sure he`ll want to see them? Also, what do you like funny romantic films (e.g. The Proposal) or more tragic/serious ones? (e.g. The Time Traveler`s wife)?

      Let me know and I`ll list some for you!!

      Have a nice Sunday evening!! x

Leave a Reply

