Sunny prospects…

Last Wednesday, whilst I was driving out of town for a work meeting and had to open the car window as it was very warm, I thought to myself Gosh, I hope this great weather will linger into the weekend! And indeed, that’s what happened!!

So, yesterday, we set off to visit Bury St Edmunds. I had seen the sign for Bury when I was driving and hey, I had always wanted to visit a nice part of Suffolk, so that’s how I convinced my hubby to take me for  a train ride (couldn`t be bothered with parking problems on a Sunday) to Bury-  it has an imposing gothic cathedral (St Edmund`s) which looks very well maintained.

It is a very quaint place with several shops in the town centre (which of course I could not resist!) and very pretty cafes.

Here are a couple of pics of the entrance into the abbey ruins with splendid gardens and

Trip to Bury St Edmunds in Suffolk

Trip to Bury St Edmunds in Suffolk

and a lovely flower patch which caught my eye!

Pretty flower patch!

And in the spirit of summer (it feels more like it than spring!), I decided to cook Spanish Rice..or Camilla`s Own Riso alla Spagnola.. as we call it in our family and a dish which my mum used to cook quite often in summer when I was still at home…so I decided to have a go as I haven`t tasted it in a long while and of course I wanted to cook for dear hubby!

So what do you need for this tasty dish?

Rice, 4 bell peppers (different colours), paprika, chilli, curry powder 1-2 tins of chopped tomatoes, pepper and salt, vegetable cube, 2 cloves garlic and 1 onion and a good lug of olive oil.

How do you do it?- easy peesy and not more than 20 mins preparation & cooking time in all!

  • Chopped onion and garlic fried until golden in oil (you can ask your hubby to do it for you as I did!).
  • Then add the peppers, cut lengthwise into pieces (but not too small).
  • Once the peppers have softened, add the tomatoes and pinch of chilli, curry, paprika, pepper and salt and the cube.
  • Mix everything together and stir continuously with a wooden spoon.
  • Meanwhile, cook the rice in a rice-cooker and add to your mixture.
  • You can serve with tuna fish (add it to your mixture or after directly to your plate) but since Mr M doesn`t like fish, I had to add the tuna to my plate but he was allowed to have an extra portion of peppers!

And the result?
Delicious, as you can see (and healthy too)!!

Tasty summer rice dish!

Tasty summer rice dish!

2 thoughts on “Sunny prospects…

Leave a Reply

