So Bon Voyage, I`m off in the skies!

It always has the same effect on me- flying; going through an airport, the anticipation of a holiday, of exploring new lands and seas..and the mere excitement of doing something which breaks the mundane routine!!

And so, here I am, in Heathrow airport- the mere thought of having to fly sends ripples of excitement down my spine. I am caught in a childish elation for weeks before…and the week of the flight, I`m in a fantastic mood; I catch myself grinning stupidly at myself in the mirror and nothing seems to perturb me. I wait in anticipation for the pre-flight day.

So, when this arrives and work is over for the day, I`m all perked up, ready for the mad frenzy..the packing stage..before it all begins, I fish out my detailed prescription- a long list of ‘must haves’, then come the ‘maybes’ and after (if there still is enough room) all the rest! At the end of the packing operation, my stuff is neatly packed in plastic bags and the suitcase is then firmly sealed and placed carefully next to the front door.

On the day, I get up early and have yet another look at my list to make sure nothing has been left out…I also muse on a few additional items which could be squeezed in, call my taxi to the train station and then the trip to Heathrow begins…an 8 hour marathon! Before departure..a train journey, and then a tube-ride (via Piccadilly line) from Kings Cross to Heathrow Terminal 4.

Departure

Departures

Once inside the airport and the check-in is done and dusted, I join the swarms of people getting through the security gates and with my hand luggage in tow, off I dash to inspect the latest merchandise in the shops, pursue any bargains and stroll through Mulberry, Bally, Harrods, Swarovski, and whoa..there`s a sale in LK Bennett., Mulberry and more…I`m on it! A few more prowls..I spot a WH Smith and secure an armful of ladies mags- an important accompaniment for the 3 hour flight- and finally of course you can`t miss the perfume stands in the World Duty Free, where I hunt the latest scents of the season and enjoy the special whiff!!

LK Bennett

LK Bennett

More time passes, and the gate opens..and off I go..no pressure though, it`s not an Easy Jet flight and I know I have a good seat! Bon Voyage!

Leave a Reply

