Venice Break!

I`ve been missing from the blogwaves for a while now…the reason is purely that I recently changed my job…and from one, I am now trying to juggle 3 part-times (which generally tend to eat up the weekend) and of course on top of that, actually strive to be a model wife too! : )

However, as you may imagine, this is not  very simple  to achieve, so in order to manage, I  sometimes have to give up my ‘me time‘ which this blog is part of…but I`ve now returned, and hope to be able to post a bit more often…

Ah, a big thanks to those of you who are still following me and also I see there are some newcomers too! Welcome On Board!

So, last month, in an attempt to ensure that I don`t lose my sanity with this continual working mode, and also, as a very belated Christmas pressie to my other half…..we decided to take a very brief vacation in Venice! I`ve never been before, though hubby had visited with his parents as a child…so I was really looking forward to the very brief four days.

On arrival, we sped off from the airport in a water bus which takes you directly to the city of canals, majestic buildings, gondolas (technically, in Italian, this should be gondole) and fantastic masks…

Here are some of the best shots we took..enjoy and let me know what you think!!

ge of Sighs..as the prisoners entered the dungeons.

Bridge of Sighs..as the prisoners entered the dungeons…you can still hear them faintly!

Magnificent Venice

Magnificent Venice!

Take me on a gondola ride please!

Take me on a gondola ride please!

Doge`s Palace

Doge`s Palace

Lovely Array of Venitian Masks

Lovely Array of Venetian Masks and Murano Glass…

5 thoughts on “Venice Break!

  1. I’ve always wanted to see Venice and your pics confirm just how pretty it is! 🙂 Will you be sharing your vacation itinerary with us? Would love to hear what you did on the trip!

    • Hello! Sorry for the super-late reply…summer was gorgeous here in UK..but now winter has crept in so back to blogging!! 🙂
      Venice was amazing and I highly recommend it..we only had 4 days so we remained in the vicinity of Piazza San Marco and went for walks around Venice- you can get a combo ticket to visit key museums in San Marco. If you have a few days, it certainly makes sense and you can use the ticket over a couple of days, so definitely worth it.
      The Doge`s Palace is fab and even just strolling around Venice is very relaxing. Food in restaurants we found quite expensive and we were not impressed by the quality at all. There is a tax for every night you spend there too but I guess they need vast amounts of money to preserve all the buildings. We would have loved to go to the theatre to watch an opera..but we forgot to book tickets and so it was too late in the end, but definitely on the list for our next time!

    • Venice looks as amazing as last time I was there 20 years ago. I must go back one day. I last went with a dear aunt who took me all over europe. Sadly she has now passed away.

      • Dearest Rose! Yes, it was truly amazing..but it also gave me a melancholic feeling, since many of the buildings seem in need of urgent repair and maintenance..it`s like being in another world..I kept on imaging I`m going to bump into a couple of ghosts..and of course no cars..only boats and gondolas and thousands of tourists..amazing..you should go there again.. x

Leave a Reply

